Texas State Inspection Information
While we can’t provide a complete legal description of the state inspection process in a single web page, this page is designed to convey some basic information and answer the most common questions associated with State Inspections. If you don’t find the answer to your questions here, more detailed information is available from the Texas Department of Public Safety web site, or by calling Vehicle Inspection Services at (214) 861-2400.
State Safety Inspection Checklist:
- Check for broken or burned out turn signals, brake lights, tail Lights, license plate light and reflectors
- Check for missing or broken gas cap & seal
- Check operation and condition of seat belts
- Check parking brake function (does it holds the car)
- Window Tint (1988 or newer only, check too dark/below AS1 line on front windshield)
- Rear view mirror
- Interior high beam indicator, high beam switch, and turn signal indicators
- Check wiper blade condition and operation
- EGR, TAC, PCV components (present/working)
- Check the operation and condition of the power steering and power brakes
- Check the EVAP canister and air pump
- Check the operation and condition of the headlights
- Exhaust System (including manifold, check for leaks, proper hangers)
- Check catalytic converter function (1984 or newer)
- Check tires (rim condition, tire condition, minimum tire tread, all lug nuts, splits/cracks)
You must present proof of insurance at the time of inspection during the driving portion of the State Inspection Test, the vehicle will be checked for steering slack or binding, horn operation, brake stopping distance, and parking brake function.
Emissions Inspection checklist:
- Vehicles must be 2 to 24 years old and be gasoline powered
- Vehicles built in 1996 or later must pass the OBDII emissions test
- Proof of insurance is required per state law.
- Inspection fee is payable on a pass or fail per state law.
- Once an inspection has begun, it must be completed per state law.
- Out-of-state requires a “green” sheet for an additional $1 to license a vehicle in Texas.
- State inspection fee varies from $14.50 to $39.75 for automobiles, motorcycles, diesels, and heavy trucks.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Can I make an appointment for a state inspection?
A: No. We are not allowed to take appointments for state inspections. State Inspections are performed on a first-come, first-served basis. During certain periods of the month, there may be a lengthy wait for state inspections. Generally, try to avoid the first and last 6 days of the month. Make sure you have a current insurance card to save time. We cannot call your insurance agent or receive faxes of your insurance card.
You must present proof of insurance at the time of inspection during the driving portion of the State Inspection Test. The vehicle will be checked for steering slack or binding, horn operation, brake stopping distance, and parking brake function.